UAE imposes economic sanctions on senior leadership of Hezbollah

UAE imposes economic sanctions on senior leadership of Hezbollah

UAE has imposed economic sanctions against 10 leaders of Lebanon’s Hezbollah which are on its terrorism list including Hassan Nasrallah and his deputy Naim Qassem.

The move comes in line with significant actions taken by the seven members of the Terrorist Financing and Targeting Center (TFTC) to disrupt Iran’s destabilising influence in the region and its funding of armed militias.

Seven members of TFTC are Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, UAE and the US.

The economic sanctions by UAE will be on Hassan Nasrallah, the Secretary General of Hezbollah, Naim Qasim, Mohammad Yazbak, Hussain Khalil, and Ebrahim Amin Al Sayyid.

In addition, UAE also identified key Hezbollah affiliated individuals and entities and imposed sanctions on them. On the list are Talal Hamiyah, Ali Yousef Charara, Spectrum Group, Hassan Ebrahimi, Maher Trading, Hashem Safieddine, Adham Tabaja, Al Inmaa Group, and Al Inmaa Engineering and Contracting, all of whom were previously designated by the US.

This is the second TFTC sanction action since the centre was announced on May 21st, 2017. The TFTC was established in an effort to expand and strengthen the seven member states cooperation to counter the financing of terrorism.

Source: Gulf News